Guide
Landlord Studio vs Stessa (2026): Pricing, Schedule E and Rent Collection Compared
Landlord Studio vs Stessa 2026: free plans, Schedule E cost, per-unit vs flat pricing, rent collection fees and bank feeds, with US prices checked Oct 2026.
By Landlord Software Directory · Updated on · Pricing checked
On this page
Both apps cost about the same for three units: Schedule E costs about $144 a year on either. Above three units, the pricing models split:
- Stessa charges a flat price for unlimited properties: $12 a month on its Manage plan, billed annually.
- Landlord Studio's Pro plan starts at $12 a month, billed annually, for 3 units, then adds $1 per extra unit each month.
On the free plans, Stessa gives you more. Its Essentials plan includes automatic bank feeds for unlimited properties. Landlord Studio's free Go plan covers 3 units with no bank feeds.
Pick Landlord Studio if you want its mobile receipt-and-mileage workflow, Xero integration, or tenant-paid ACH fees that you control. Prices come from each vendor's US pricing page, checked October 28, 2026. We haven't tested either app hands-on.
Prices at a glance
| Plan | Annual billing | Monthly billing | Units | Schedule E |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Landlord Studio Go | $0 | $0 | 3 | Basic reports only |
| Landlord Studio Pro | $144/yr ($12/mo) + $1/mo per extra unit | $15/mo + $1.20 per extra unit | 3 included | Yes ("Schedule E & other tax-ready reports") |
| Landlord Studio Pro Plus | $336/yr ($28/mo) + $1/mo per extra unit | $35/mo + $1.20 per extra unit | 3 included | Yes |
| Stessa Essentials | $0 | $0 | Unlimited | No (basic tax package) |
| Stessa Manage | $12/mo, paid annually ($144/yr) | $15/mo | Unlimited | Yes |
| Stessa Pro | $28/mo, paid annually ($336/yr) | $35/mo | Unlimited | Yes |
Landlord Studio's pricing page also shows UK prices in pounds. We used only its US table and the US calculator settings on the page: $15 or $12 base, 3 included units, and $1.20 or $1.00 per extra unit (monthly or annual). That settles an open question from our earlier guides: the $1.20 per extra unit is a monthly charge, and it drops to $1 a month on annual billing.
What Schedule E costs at your size
These are yearly costs on annual billing for the cheapest plan with a Schedule E report.
| Units | Landlord Studio Pro | Stessa Manage |
|---|---|---|
| 1–3 | $144 | $144 |
| 5 | $168 ($12 + 2 × $1, × 12) | $144 |
| 10 | $228 ($12 + 7 × $1, × 12) | $144 |
| 20 | $348 ($12 + 17 × $1, × 12) | $144 |
On monthly billing, Landlord Studio Pro is $15.00 for 3 units, $17.40 for 5, $23.40 for 10 and $35.40 for 20. Stessa Manage is $15 at any size.
For Schedule E alone, Stessa is never more expensive and gets cheaper as you grow. If you'd rather not pay at all for Schedule E, REI Hub's free plan includes Schedule E reports (no automatic bank import). See REI Hub vs Stessa.
Free plans compared
| Landlord Studio Go | Stessa Essentials | |
|---|---|---|
| Units | 3 | Unlimited |
| Users | 1 | Not stated |
| Bank feeds | Not included | Automatic bank feeds |
| Reports | Basic; PDF export only | Basic financial reports |
| Receipts and mileage | Smart receipt scanner, mileage tracker | Not listed on Essentials |
| Listings and screening | Listings, applications, tenant-paid screening, syndication | Vacancy marketing, tenant screening |
| Rent collection | Yes | Yes |
| Maintenance | Tenant portal and maintenance requests | Maintenance requests and tracking |
| Document storage | 10 documents | Not stated |
Landlord Studio's 14-day Pro trial drops you to Go when it ends, so you can keep using the app free.
Paid plan features
Landlord Studio Pro adds:
- AI-assisted bookkeeping
- 5 bank-feed accounts and 25 bank rules
- 20+ advanced reports with CSV export, including Schedule E
- Xero integration
- 3 users and 250 documents
- Automated rent and lease-expiry reminders
Pro Plus raises the limits to 20 bank feeds, 250 rules, 10 users and unlimited documents, and adds an account manager.
Stessa Manage adds the Schedule E report, one eSignature a month, 60+ legal forms, unlimited state-compliant leases, accelerated rent payments and priority chat support.
Stessa Pro adds seven eSignatures a month, priority tenant screening and phone support, and a higher APY tier on cash balances (up to 3.49%, vs up to 2.02% on the other plans).
Every Stessa plan includes unlimited properties and a cash management account through Thread Bank.
Rent collection fees
| Landlord Studio | Stessa | |
|---|---|---|
| Landlord fee | Free | No landlord fees |
| ACH | $2.50 per payment; you choose whether you or the tenant pays | Free into Stessa's cash account; up to $2 paid by the resident to an outside bank |
| Card | 3.49%, paid by the tenant | 3% |
| ACH timing | 3–5 business days | Up to 5 business days; faster on Manage and Pro |
If you want tenants to pay nothing by ACH, both can do it. With Landlord Studio, you absorb the $2.50 yourself. With Stessa, rent has to land in Stessa's own cash account.
Which should you pick?
- Up to 3 units, want it free: Stessa Essentials, for its bank feeds. Landlord Studio Go works if you'd rather enter transactions by hand or with its receipt scanner.
- Need Schedule E: Stessa Manage, at $144 a year regardless of size. Landlord Studio Pro matches it only at 1–3 units.
- Use Xero, or your accountant does: Landlord Studio Pro or Pro Plus. Stessa's pricing page doesn't list Xero.
- Want tenants to pay the ACH fee, landlord's choice: Landlord Studio lets you assign its $2.50 fee either way.
For more options, see best rental property accounting software and Baselane vs Stessa.
Baselane is a financial technology company and is not an FDIC-insured bank.
How we checked
On October 28, 2026, we read:
- Landlord Studio's pricing page: the US comparison table, the US calculator settings and the plan JSON on the page
- Landlord Studio's online rent collection page, for ACH and card fees and payout times
- Stessa's pricing page
- Stessa's rent collection help article
The cost tables apply each vendor's published rates. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.
FAQ
Is Landlord Studio free?
Yes. The Go plan is free for up to 3 units with 1 user. It includes listings, rent collection, maintenance requests, a receipt scanner and basic reports, but no bank feeds.
How much is Landlord Studio Pro for 10 units?
$228 a year on annual billing ($12 base + $7 for 7 extra units, per month). On monthly billing, it's $23.40 a month.
Does Stessa charge per property?
No. Every Stessa plan covers unlimited properties. Manage is $12 a month billed annually or $15 monthly, and Pro is $28 or $35.
Which one has a free Schedule E report?
Neither. Stessa's Schedule E report is on Manage and Pro, and Landlord Studio's is on Pro and Pro Plus. REI Hub's free plan does include Schedule E.
Who pays Landlord Studio's ACH fee?
You choose. The $2.50 ACH fee can be paid by you or assigned to the tenant. Card payments cost the tenant 3.49%.
Related
Software mentioned
Checked
Landlord app centered on rental accounting and tax reports, plus listings, screening and rent collection; free up to 3 units.
Checked
Free rental accounting, banking and rent collection for investors, with paid tiers for leases and advanced reports.
Checked
Rental-investor bookkeeping with bank import, depreciation tracking and Schedule E reports, priced by unit tier.
Checked
Free banking, bookkeeping and rent collection for rental investors, with an AI-automation paid tier.