Skip to content
Landlord SoftwareDirectory

Guide

What Rent Collection Really Costs Per Unit (Oct 2026): ACH and Card Fees Across 12 Landlord Apps

What online rent collection really costs per unit per year in Oct 2026: ACH and card fees plus subscriptions across 12 landlord apps, with our method shown.

By Landlord Software Directory · Updated on · Pricing checked

On this page
  1. The fee schedule
  2. Cost per unit per year if you pay everything
  3. Card payments: the expensive part
  4. What the numbers say
  5. How we checked
  6. FAQ
  7. Related

If tenants pay by bank transfer and you cover the fees, online rent collection costs between $0 and about $30 per unit per year on the free and low-cost apps we track. The subscription often costs more than the payment fees, especially on full property-management suites, where the cost per unit is much higher for small portfolios. Card payments change everything: a single $1,500 rent payment by card costs $44–$53 in fees, more than a year of ACH fees on any app here.

Every figure below comes from each vendor's own pricing or help pages, checked October 28, 2026, and the method is spelled out at the end. Some apps charge nothing per payment if rent lands in their own account, which includes Baselane and Stessa, and we show both cases.

Baselane is a financial technology company and is not an FDIC-insured bank.

The fee schedule

Pricing checked Oct 2026.
App and planSubscriptionACH fee per paymentWho pays ACH by defaultCard feeStandard payout
Zillow Rental Manager$0$0—Credit 2.95%; debit $9.95Up to 5 business days
TurboTenant Free / Essentials$0 / $149 a year (1–10 units)~$2Landlord chooses3.49%5–7 business days (Free); 2–4 (paid)
TurboTenant Pro$199 a year (1–10 units), $399 (11–30)Typically waived—3.49%2–4 business days
RentRedi$144 a year ($12/mo billed yearly)$1Tenant; landlord can cover3.1% + $0.302–3 business days
Innago$0$2Tenant; landlord can absorb2.99%1–2 business days
Avail Unlimited / Unlimited Plus$0 / $9 per unit per month$2.50 / $0Tenant3.5%2–3 business days; next-day FastPay on Plus
Stessa Essentials$0$0 into Stessa; up to $2 to an outside bankTenant3%Up to 5 business days
Baselane Core$0$0 into Baselane; $2 otherwiseTenant3.49%5 business days (2 on Smart)
Landlord Studio Go / Pro$0 (up to 3 units) / $144 a year + $1 per extra unit per month$2.50Landlord's choice3.49%3–5 business days
Hemlane Basic$28 + $2 per unit per month$0—3%2–3 business days once verified
Rentec Direct Starter / Pro$25 a month / from $45 a month on annual billing$2 / 1 free per property per month, then $0.50Not stated3.5% / 2.95%Not compared
DoorLoop One / Connect$199 / $299 a month minimum (yearly)$1.50 / $0Not statedNot stated on its pricing pageNot stated
Buildium Essential / GrowthFrom $65 / $202 a month$2.35 / $1.35Not stated2.99%Not compared

Hemlane's prices here are its annual-billing rates, the default view on its pricing page ("Save up to 20% with annual billing"); month-to-month billing costs more, checked Oct 28, 2026.

Cost per unit per year if you pay everything

This is what one unit costs you a year if the tenant pays rent by ACH 12 times and you absorb every fee, with the subscription spread across your units. We show 5 and 20 units, because minimums and flat prices make small portfolios pay more per unit.

App and planPer unit per year, 5 unitsPer unit per year, 20 units
Zillow Rental Manager$0$0
Stessa Essentials, rent into Stessa$0$0
Baselane Core, rent into Baselane$0$0
TurboTenant Free$24$24
Innago$24$24
Stessa or Baselane, rent to an outside bankUp to $24Up to $24
Avail Unlimited (free)$30$30
TurboTenant Pro$39.80$19.95
RentRedi (annual)$40.80$19.20
Landlord Studio Pro (annual)$63.60$47.40
Hemlane Basic$91.20$40.80
Rentec Direct Pro (annual)$108$27
Avail Unlimited Plus$108$108
Buildium Essential (starting price)$184.20$67.20
DoorLoop One (yearly)$495.60$137.40

Rentec Starter at 5 units works out to $84 per unit, but Starter is capped at 10 properties, so there's no 20-unit figure. Landlord Studio's free Go plan covers rent collection for up to 3 units at $30 per unit in ACH fees.

Two caveats:

  • The all-in-one suites (Hemlane, Rentec, Buildium, DoorLoop) include accounting, leasing and maintenance in that subscription, so not all of it is a rent-collection cost. The figures answer "what do I pay per unit to collect rent online on this app," not "which app is better value."
  • If tenants pay the ACH fee, everything in the free rows drops to $0 for you, and the tenant pays $12–$30 a year instead.

Card payments: the expensive part

The fee on one $1,500 card payment:

AppCard feeOn $1,500 rent
Zillow (credit)2.95%$44.25
Rentec Direct Pro2.95%$44.25
Innago2.99%$44.85
Buildium2.99%$44.85
Stessa3%$45.00
Hemlane3%$45.00
RentRedi3.1% + $0.30, grossed up*$48.30
TurboTenant3.49%$52.35
Baselane3.49%$52.35
Landlord Studio3.49%$52.35
Avail3.5%$52.50
Rentec Direct Starter3.5%$52.50

*RentRedi's help center says it calculates the card fee so the landlord receives the full rent: (rent × 3.1% + $0.30) ÷ (1 − 3.1%). Its own example is $32.30 on $1,000.

If a tenant paid $1,500 by card every month for a year, the fees would come to $531–$630, compared with $0–$30 by ACH. Most of these apps put card fees on the tenant by default. If you absorb them, a single card-paying tenant can cost more than your whole software bill. Zillow's flat $9.95 debit-card fee is the cheapest card option here for rent above about $340 (where 2.95% is less than $9.95).

What the numbers say

  1. For 1–5 units, free apps plus ACH are hard to beat. Zillow, Stessa (into Stessa), Baselane (into Baselane), Innago and TurboTenant Free cost $0–$24 per unit per year even when you cover the fees.
  2. Flat prices win as you grow. RentRedi's $144 and TurboTenant Pro's $199 drop below $20 per unit at 20 units. Avail Plus stays at $108 because it's priced per unit.
  3. Minimums punish small portfolios. DoorLoop's $199 monthly floor works out to almost $500 per unit per year at 5 units.
  4. Payout speed costs extra. The faster options (Avail FastPay, Baselane Smart, TurboTenant expedited ACH) sit on paid plans.
  5. Watch the "into our account" condition. Stessa's and Baselane's $0 ACH depends on rent landing in their banking products. Rent sent to an outside bank costs up to $2 a payment on Stessa and $2 on Baselane.

How we checked

Sources. On October 28, 2026, we read each vendor's own pricing page or help-center article for its fees:

  • Zillow's collect-rent page
  • TurboTenant help articles 4003980 (plans) and 4522996 (fees and payout timing)
  • RentRedi's pricing page and payments FAQ
  • Innago's FAQ
  • Avail's pricing page and Unlimited Plus article
  • Stessa's pricing page and rent-collection help article
  • Baselane's pricing page, payment policy and 2-day rent article
  • Landlord Studio's pricing page (US calculator configuration) and online rent collection page
  • Hemlane's pricing page and payout article
  • Rentec Direct's pricing page and its calculator script
  • DoorLoop's and Buildium's pricing pages

Every source URL is logged in our sources file. Where a page didn't state a fee, payer or payout time, the table says "Not stated" rather than guessing.

Assumptions.

  • One unit = one tenant paying rent once a month by ACH, 12 times a year.
  • The landlord absorbs every ACH fee.
  • Subscriptions use the cheapest billing option the vendor shows: annual for RentRedi, TurboTenant, Landlord Studio, Rentec and DoorLoop; monthly for Hemlane and Buildium, which show no annual discount.
  • Buildium uses its "starting at" price, so real costs may be higher.
  • Where a vendor states an "up to" fee (Stessa's up to $2), we use the maximum.
  • TurboTenant's ~$2 is treated as $2.
  • No late fees, failed-payment fees, instant-payout fees or screening fees are included.

Formulas. Per unit per year = (yearly subscription + ACH fee × 12 × units) ÷ units.

  • TurboTenant Pro: $199 ÷ 5 = $39.80 and $399 ÷ 20 = $19.95.
  • RentRedi: ($144 + $12 × units) ÷ units.
  • Landlord Studio Pro annual: ($12 + $1 × (units − 3)) × 12, plus $2.50 × 12 × units, then ÷ units.
  • Hemlane: ($28 + $2 × units) × 12 ÷ units.
  • Rentec Pro: max($50, $2 × units) × 0.9 × 12 ÷ units, with no ACH fee because each property gets one free incoming ACH per month.
  • Buildium Essential: ($65 × 12 + $2.35 × 12 × units) ÷ units.
  • DoorLoop One: ($199 × 12 + $1.50 × 12 × units) ÷ units.

Independence. Several of these vendors run affiliate programs. None paid for inclusion, and the tables are sorted by cost (the per-unit table by the 5-unit column), not by payout. We haven't tested these apps' payment flows hands-on.

FAQ

What's the cheapest way to collect rent online?

Bank transfer (ACH) on a free app. Zillow Rental Manager charges $0 per ACH payment. Stessa and Baselane also charge $0 when rent lands in their own accounts. Innago and TurboTenant Free charge about $2 per payment, which you or the tenant can pay.

Should I make tenants pay the ACH fee?

That's your call, and most apps let you choose. At $1–$2.50 per payment, it's $12–$30 a year per tenant. Some landlords cover it to encourage ACH over cards. Check your local rules on fees you can charge tenants.

Why is my per-unit cost so high on DoorLoop or Buildium?

Their prices are set for property-management businesses. DoorLoop One has a $199 monthly minimum, and Buildium starts at $65 a month and adds per-payment EFT fees. Spread over 5 units, that's a lot per unit. Over 50 or more, it shrinks.

Is it ever worth accepting cards?

Only if the tenant pays the fee or you value the speed. Card payouts can be faster (TurboTenant quotes 1–3 business days), but at 2.95%–3.5% a card payment costs far more than ACH.

How often do you update these numbers?

We re-check vendor pricing pages and date every table. This version was checked on October 28, 2026.

Software mentioned

Checked

Zillow's landlord tools for listing on Zillow's network, screening applicants, e-signing leases and collecting rent.

Free; paid price not published1+ units

Checked

Free-first landlord app for listings, screening, e-signed leases and online rent, with low-cost paid tiers for DIY owners.

Free; paid from $149/yr1–50 units

Checked

Flat-priced mobile landlord app covering rent collection, screening, listings, accounting and maintenance for unlimited units.

From $12/mo1+ units

Checked

Free property management software for independent landlords, funded by tenant-paid payment and screening fees.

Free1+ units

Checked

Free landlord toolkit for listing syndication, TransUnion screening, state-specific leases and online rent collection.

Free; paid from $9/unit/mo1+ units

Checked

Free rental accounting, banking and rent collection for investors, with paid tiers for leases and advanced reports.

Free; paid from $12/mo1+ units

Checked

Free banking, bookkeeping and rent collection for rental investors, with an AI-automation paid tier.

Free; paid from $20/mo30-day trial1+ units

Checked

Landlord app centered on rental accounting and tax reports, plus listings, screening and rent collection; free up to 3 units.

Free; paid from $15/mo14-day trial1+ units

Checked

Rental software with a free tier plus optional repair coordination and management-assistant services for remote landlords.

Free; paid from $30/mo14-day trial1+ units

Checked

Property management and accounting software with fully published pricing for landlords and trust-accounting managers.

From $25/mo14-day trial1+ units

Checked

Per-unit property management platform with accounting, leasing, maintenance and AI agents; monthly minimums apply.

From $2.5/unit/mo

Checked

Full property management suite with accounting, leasing, maintenance and portals for growing residential and HOA managers.

From $65/mo14-day trialUp to 5000 units